Tagoloan II, Lanao del Sur

Tagoloan is a fourth class municipality in the province of Lanao del Sur, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 11,169 people.

The Municipality of Tagoloan II is situated in the northern part of the Province of Lanao del Sur, containing a total land area of 60,214 hectares, more or less. This area is based on the territorial jurisdiction covered by those barangays (39 Barangays) named in the Presidential Decree 1548 dated June 11, 1978, otherwise known as the "charter creation of the Municipality of Tagoloan II in the Province of Lanao del Sur" which hereby described as follows;

Bounded on the east by Cagayan river (Municipality of Talakag, Province of Bukidnon); on the south by Municipality of Bubong, Province of Lanao del Sur; on the south-west by Municipality of Kapai, Province of Lanao del Sur and Municipality of Tagoloan, Province of Lanao del Norte; on the west by City of Iligan; on the north by Cagayan de Oro City, Province of Misamis Oriental.

Municipality of Tagoloan II is politically subdivided into thirty-nine (39) barangays under the P.D. 1548 dated June 11, 1978 and was then reduced into nineteen (19) barangays, as affected by E.O. No. 108, Series of 1986 namely, are;

Tagoloan is a compound word composed of two (2) "maranao" terms connected together. The term, "Tago" refers to something inside, "a content", which is refers to the, "inhabitants", and "oloan", a noun means "leader" in which in its adjective form is, "chief or head" in terms of leading a position in a community or village or a clan.

In today's political and administrative system of government by some other Muslim countries, the leader, head or chief of the state is called a "Sultan". In the present traditional government of the "Moro" nation, the head of the community or town and or a region is so-called a, "Sultan"(e.g.; Sultan of Bayog, Sultan of Dimakiling, Sultan of Kapai, Sultan of Ramain, Sultan of Masiu, Sultan of Ragayan sa Unayan, and the like)". The term "Sultan" is originally an Arabic word, a title, which is particularly addressed to a "muslim ruler" of a certain state or community, i.e.; Sultans of Oman;

In short, "Tago-oloan or Tagoloan" is literally means as, the " descendants of the Sultan", while "Sultan", the ruler of the state, refers to Sultan Sarip Alawi (The First Sultan of Tagoloan). Sultan Sarip Alawi, who established the Sultanate of Tagoloan in 1500, is the eldest brother of Sultan Sarip Kabunsuan (The First Sultan of Maguindanao). This two (2) brother came from Johore (state in Malaysia)landed in the islet which is visible from the seaport of the Municipality of Tagoloan bromelain tenderizer, Misamis Oriental, Northern Mindanao in 1475 water bottle dishwasher safe. Sultan Sarip Alawi spread Islam (prior to the arrival of Christianity in Philippine in 1521),in this town towards Surigao, Butuan, Bukidnon, Davao, Lanao del Sur and Norte, stretching towards Misamis Occidental in western Mindanao, while Sutan Sarip Kabunsuan preached Islam in Maguinadanao.